April 12, 2024

CURRICULUM VITAE

Barry Simon IBM Professor of Mathematics and Theoretical Physics California Institute of Technology Pasadena, CA 91125

DATE OF BIRTH: April 16, 1946

EDUCATION

A.B., summa cum laude, Harvard College, 1966 Ph.D. (Physics), Princeton University, 1970

POSITIONS AND TEACHING EXPERIENCE

- 1969/70 Instructor, Department of Mathematics, Princeton
- $\circ~1970/72-Assistant$ Professor, Departments of Mathematics and Physics, Princeton
- 1972/76 Associate Professor, Departments of Mathematics and Physics, Princeton
- 1972/73 On leave as Visiting Professor at IHES, Bures-sur-Yvette, France and the ETH, Zurich, Switzerland
- 1976/81 Professor, Departments of Mathematics and Physics, Princeton
- \circ 1976/77 On leave as Visiting Professor at Department of Physics, Yeshiva University, NYC
- 1980/81 On leave as a Sherman Fairchild Distinguished Visiting Scholar at California Institute of Technology
- 1981/ Professor of Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, California Institute of Technology
- 1984/ IBM Professor of Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, California Institute of Technology
- 2016/ IBM Professor of Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, Emeritus, California Institute of Technology

HONORARY DEGREES

- D.Sc.h.c., Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, 1999
- Honorary Fellow, University of Wales Swansea, 2006

• D.h.c., Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, 2014

HONORS

- 1965 Putnam Competition Winner (top five group)
- Sloan Foundation Fellow, 1972–76
- Medal of International Academy of Atomic and Molecular Science, 1981
- Fellow, American Physical Society, 1981
- Stampacchia Prize, 1982
- Guggenheim Fellowship, 1988–1989
- Corresponding Member, Austrian Academy of Sciences, 1990
- Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2005
- Poincaré Prize, 2012
- Fellow, American Math. Society, 2013
- Simons Foundation Fellowship in Mathematics, 2013
- Jew in the City Orthodox Allstars, 2014 (previous honoraries include Joe Lieberman and Jack Lew)
- Bolyai Prize of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, 2015
- American Math. Society, Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement, 2016
- James Madison High School Wall of Distinction, 2016 (previous honorees include Ruth Ginsburg, Bernie Saunders, Chuck Schummer and "Judge" Judy Sheindlin)
- Dannie Heineman Prize in Mathematical Physics, AIP/APS, 2018
- Member, United States National Academy of Sciences, 2019

NAMED AND SOCIETY LECTURES

- Invited Speaker, International Congress of Mathematics, 1974
- Invited Speaker, American Physical Society, Anaheim Meeting, 1975
- Invited Speaker, American Mathematical Society, New York Meeting, 1977
- Session Organizer, IAMP, Lausanne, 1981
- Invited Speaker, American Physical Society, DEAP Meeting, Los Angeles, 1980
- Invited Speaker, IAMP, Berlin, 1981
- Distinguished Visitor, University of California, Irvine, 2002
- Lady Davis Visiting Professor, Hebrew University, 2004–2005
- Invited Speaker, Milton Brockett Porter Lectures, Rice University, 2006
- Invited Speaker, Sixth van Winter Memorial Lecture in Mathematical Physics, University of Kentucky, 2006–2007
- Invited Speaker, The Wolfgang Wasow Memorial Lecture, University of

Wisconsin at Madison, 2007

- Invited Speaker, IAMP, Aalborg, 2012
- Masterclass, Center for Quantum Geometry, Aarhus, 2014
- Sackler Lecture, Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen, 2015
- First Lars Ahlfors Lecture, Brigham Young University, 2016
- University of Haifa Distinguished Lecture Series in Mathematics, 2018
- University of Virginia Distinguished Visitor, 2018
- Baylor Lectures Series in Mathematics, 2018
- Lezioni Leonardesche, Milan, 2018
- DeLong Lecturer at the University of Colorado, 2019/2020

ADMINISTRATIVE EXPERIENCE

- Council, American Mathematical Society, 1975–78
- AIP Committee to choose a new editor of Journal of Mathematical Physics, 1978
- Program Committee, AMS National Meetings, 1980–82 (Chair, 1982)
- Nominating Committee, AMS, 1984–85
- Director of Graduate Studies, Princeton University Physics Department, 1973–76
- Chair, Princeton Graduate Admissions Committee, Physics Department, 1979–80
- Chair, Caltech Theoretical Physics Staffing Committee, 1983
- Editorial Board, Journal of Operator Theory, 1979-
- Associate Editor, Journal of Statistical Physics, 1979–81
- Associate Editor, Journal of Mathematical Physics, 1979-81
- Editorial Board, Communications in Mathematical Physics, 1979–2014
- Associate Editor, Duke Mathematical Journal, 1980–90
- Editor, Mathematical Reports, 1980
- Editor, Wadsworth Series in Advanced Mathematics, 1982–86
- Advisory Committee, IAMP Congress, Lausanne, 1979
- Advisory Committee, IAMP Congress, Berlin, 1981
- Organizing Committee, Sanibel Workshop on Large Orders of Perturbation Theory, 1981
- Organizer of Western States Mathematical Physics Meetings, 1981–
- Organizing Committee, Conference in honor of A.S. Wightman, Princeton, 1982
- Co-organizer (with B. Souillard), CNRS/NSF Conference on Random and Almost Periodic Potentials, Paris, June, 1983
- Co-organizer (with J. Fröhlich and B. Souillard), Oberwolfach Meeting

on Mathematical Problems in Condensed Matter Physics, March, 1986

- $\circ\,$ Chair, CBMS Committee on American Math. Graduate Enrollment, 1986–87
- Chair, Scientific Organizing Committee for International Congress of Mathematical Physics, Swansea, 1988
- Associate Editor, Pitman Advanced Monographs & Books, 1986–
- Executive Committee, IAMP, 1985–87
- Vice President, American Mathematical Society, 1988–89
- Editorial Boards Committee, American Mathematical Society, 1989– 1993
- Executive Officer (Department Chair) for Mathematics, California Institute of Technology, August 1997–July 2003
- Heineman Prize Committee of AIP-APS, 2000–2001 (chair 2001)
- Steele Prize Committee of AMS, 2001–2003
- Editorial Board, Cambridge University Press, 2002-
- Editorial Board, Journal of Approximation Theory, 2005–
- Editorial Board, Inverse Problems and Imaging, 2006–
- Executive Officer (Department Chair) for Mathematics, California Institute of Technology, August 2009–August 2013
- Editorial Board, Journal of Spectral Theory, 2010-
- 2011 Eisenbud Prize Committee, 2010–2011
- Executive Committee, IAMP, 2011–2017
- Vice President, IAMP, 2014–2017
- Advisory Board, Communications in Mathematical Physics, 2015–
- 2015 Poincaré Prize Committee, 2014
- 2016-2018 American Academy Nominating Committee for Mathematics, 2016–2018
- Advisory Board, Springer Graduate Texts in Mathematics, 2016–
- Niels Bohr International Academy Scientific Advisory Board, 2017–2023
- Heineman Prize Committee, 2018
- Academic Committee of the Board of Governors of the Technion, 2018–
- Class Membership Committee, Physical and Mathematical Sciences (Class I), 2024–

OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE EXPERIENCE

Supervised Graduate Students (Princeton):

T. O'Connor (Math, 1972)

J. Rosen (Math, 1974)

R. Israel (Math, 1975)

P. Deift (Applied Math, 1976)

E. Harrell (Physics, 1980)

G. Hagedorn (Math, 1978)

F. Levin (Physics, 1980)

M. Ashbaugh (Physics, 1980)

P. Perry (Physics, 1981)

K. Miller (Physics, 1981)

Supervised Graduate Students (Caltech):

B. Siu (Physics, 1984) N. Caticha (Physics, 1984) K. Odencrantz (Math, 1987) B. Huxtable (Physics, 1987) A. Hardarson (Math., 1987) C. Glaffig (Math, 1988) J. Lindner (Physics, 1989) V. Jaksic (Math, 1992) Y.F. Zhu (Math, 1996) A. Kiselev (Math, 1996) A. Khodakovsky (Math, 1999) R. Killip (Math, 2001) A. Zlatoš (Math, 2003) I. Nenciu (Math, 2005) M. Stoiciu (Math, 2005) M.-W. Wong (Math, 2009) R. Kozhan (Math, 2010) A. Maltsev (Math, 2010) M. Lukic (Math, 2011) B. Simanek (Math, 2012)